You Are Loved: A Teacher Manifesto

In class this week, we talking about a teacher manifesto and how we can carry that out in our future classrooms. These are the promises I will make as an educator and role model.

8. I promise to teach life skills. Not only will I help my students to effectively take the STARR, but I will also teach my students skills they will need in real life. I will not teach them to take a test, but to retain information that will help them later in life.

7. I promise to model great learning to my students. I will not only teach my students in content, but also model how they should learn and what a good student does to succeed.

6. I promise to make my students feel important. My students will not feel insignificant. I will listen, respect, respond, reflect, question, challenge, and care for my students so that they know they are important to me.

5. I promise to believe in my students. I will support their dreams, desires, and goals. And not only will I support them 100%, but also will do everything in my power to help them achieve those things. Because of the confidence I have in my students, they will have confidence in themselves to succeed.

4. I promise that they can trust me. I will try not to hurt their feelings and if I ever do, I want them to be comfortable enough with me to come tell me. I want them to know that I take their trust very seriously and will do everything in my power to gain it.

3. I promise to become a better listener to their needs. If they ever need anything, regarding anything, I want them to know that I am all-ears. I want to be there for them when they need a listening friend and a mentor. I will not ignore them.

2. I promise to respect them and their opinions. Though I may not agree with them sometimes, my students will know that I listen and am interested in their view of the world.

1. Above everything, my students will know they are loved. I promise to care for them as my pupils and respect them. I will care about their dislikes and likes, their hobbies, their family, their favorite food, everything to better get to know them.

By: Rebecca McKee

Leave a Reply

