Abbie Middleton’s Manifesto

I promise to check for understanding not just at the end of my lesson, but throughout the lesson, and in many different ways (group work, think-pair-share, games, etc.)

As a bilingual teacher, I promise to encourage the development of a student’s first language, while developing their English as well.

I promise to use active learning in my classroom, and to avoid sticking to the traditional classroom layout of straight desks, lectures only, and no class participation.

I promise to make my classroom a community of learners by acting as a facilitator, and allowing them to be heard by their peers and myself.

I promise to not only teach content, but study skills as well. For me, it is important that my students learn how to study, take notes, and stay organized, and not just memorize and regurgitate information.

I promise to hold my students to a higher standard of achievement, instead of just encouraging them to do their best.

I promise to teach acceptance in my classroom. I will encourage my students to value their culture and share it with the class.

I promise to communicate clear expectations to my students. I will tell my students what I expect from each assignment and assessment, so they know what they are working towards.

I promise to practice patience with English Language Learners, especially those in the six-month silent period.

I promise to defer judgment in my classroom. When a student suggests an answer, I will accept it, and make sure none of the other students offer their opinions about that answer. In this way, students will feel safe in my classroom, and be okay with being wrong sometimes.

 

“The task of the modern educator is not to cut down jungles, but to irrigate deserts.”
― C.S. Lewis

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Abbie Middleton’s Manifesto

  1. Abbie,
    I really liked the information you included in your manifesto. I can really tell that you know a lot about education strategies and you want to make sure your classroom has a positive learning environment. I think it is really important for there to be a balance between the two because if a teacher has really great methodologies but her students don’t feel safe to participate then it will not be beneficial to them.

    Thank you for sharing this information,
    Cristal C

Leave a Reply

